January 2, 2009


Dryden’s Holland third-team B all-stater

The New York State Sports Writers Association named the All-State boys’ soccer teams this week and a record-setting performance by one local player earned him a spot.
Dryden High junior Dan Holland scored a school-record 29 goals during the season. That outstanding effort earned Holland NYSSWA Class B third-team honors.
Joining Holland on the third team were Marcellus senior midfielder Chris Borncamp, who Homer saw twice during the season, and Tyler Gill, a senior midfielder from Chenango Forks in Section 4.
Windsor senior striker Brenton Jones was a Class B first-Team honoree from Section 4, along with senior striker Steve Rathbun from Susquehanna Valley.
Class B second-team picks included Westhill senior striker Vince Scaravillo and Oneonta senior goalkeeper Chris Hayen.
Spencer-Van Etten from the IAC also had a pair of honorees in Class C. Senior midfielder Tyler Bailey earned a second-team nod and senior striker Colton Wigsten was named to the third team. Odessa-Montour senior midfielder Matt Shutter was also placed on the third team.
Fabius-Pompey’s Mike Danaher shared Class C Coach of the Year honors as his team won the state championship. Falcons senior midfielder Keith Lindabury was a Class C First-Team All-State selection.
Other Section 3 and Section 4 Class C picks included Delhi senior striker Avery Meehan (1st team); Fabius-Pompey senior midfielder Gabe Esposito was a second team selection along with senior striker Leo Nizzi (Frankfort-Schulyer), senior striker John LeClair (Mohawk) and senior striker Ryan Taylor (Delhi); plus third-team honors for Faith Heritage senior midfielder Mike Last and sophomore striker Jake Chase of Cooperstown.
CLASS AA had one Section 3 first-team all-state selection with Baldwinsville senior midfielder Kyle Rogers being honored.
Class AA second team picks included Baldwinsville senior goalkeeper P.J. Goodwin and Ithaca High senior midfielder Ben Bouvet-Boisclair while Union-Endicott senior midfielder Tyler Pianella was a third-team selection.
IN CLASS D, Hamilton’s Brian Latella was named Coach of the Year with Hamilton senior midfielder Nathan Steward earning Player of the Year honors after the Emeraldf Knights claimed the state title. Senior striker Matt Broedel of Hamilton also earned first-team honors as did Poland senior midfielder Brett Darrow and Laurens senior goalkeeper Aaron Laing.
Class D Second Team selections included Poland senior striker Jeff Hazard, Hamilton senior defender Brendon Meeks and the South Kortright senior duo of midfielder Josh Palmatier and striker Ryan Dorosky. while third team honors were given to Margaretville seniors Marcus Moore (midfield) and Josh Smith (senior), plus Roxbury senior striker Ryan Skipper.