February 26, 2016

Hockey all-stars: Second-team Button honors

Cortland-Homer senior forward Josh Button earned second-team all-league honors for the season just past in voting by the Section 3 Division II American Conference hockey coaches.
No members of the Golden Eagles squad made the first team. Three C-H players — senior forwards Clayton Larson and Nick Johnson and sophomore defender Jon Frederick — earned honorable mention.
League champion Skaneateles claimed five of the six first-team spots. Juniors Ray Falso and Reggie Buell , who shared Player of the Year honors, and senior Reece Eddy are the elite squad’s forwards, joined there by senior defensemen Devin Callahan and Jacob Patalino. CBA/Jamesville-DeWitt junior goalie Peyton Bowler rounds out the first team. Mitch Major from Skaneateles is the Coach of the Year.
In addition to Button, the second team consists of CBA/J-D forwards Ryan McGuire (senior) and Ben McCreary (junior), Clinton sophomore defenseman Garrett Frank and CBA/J-D senior defenseman Jamie St. Amour and the two senior goalies from Skaneateles, Bennett Morse and Kyle Ochsner.
Honorable mentions besides the Cortland-Homer trio include senior defenseman Sam Clymer and junior forward Matt Benson, CBA-J-D defensemen Adam Fontana (junior) and Grayson Burns (senior), Clinton senior forwards Matt Martini and Steve Calidonna and senior defenseman Eddie Allen and Oswego forwards Jameson Simmonds (junior) and Noah Lee (senior).
The Division II National Conference first team was dominated by champion New Hartford. Spartan senior forwards Alec Bard and Zach Cole, senior defenseman Garrett Mahoney and senior goalie Tyler Hansen were joined there by Auburn junior forward Kaiden Tubbert and Cazenovia senior defenseman Jake Lewis. New Hartford’s Carson Cunningham is the Coach of the Year.
The second team consists of Auburn forwards Jake Morin (sophomore) and Johnny Malandruccolo (freshman), Cazenovia senior forward Colin McGaugh, senior defensemen Casey Komanecky from Auburn and Jake Stowell from Cazenovia and Auburn senior goalie Jack Farrington.
New Hartford forwards Jack Engdahl (junior), Evan Strassberger (senior) and James Holmes (senior) were accorded honorable mention, as were senior goalie C.J. Panek, senior defenseman Reed Chronis and junior defenseman Matt Hesse and Cazenovia senior forward Adam Race, senior goalie Cameron Fry and senior defenseman Brendan Whalen.
Honorable mention also went to Whitesboro senior forward Sean Gaffney and junior forward Jake Hyer and Ontario Bay senior goalie Edward Sheets, senior defenseman Seth Lallier and sophomore forward Anthony Guarasce.

To read this article and more, pick up today's Cortland Standard
Click here to subscribe