June 19, 2009


Homer trio on first team

Staff Writer
Three Homer Central boys received OHSL Division II First-Team All-Star honors as voted on by the league’s coaches. Junior midfielders Carl Zimmerman and Aaron Darr, along with senior goalkeeper Paul Zimmerman received recognition.
Join the Homer trio on the first team were Dylan Tripodi (Westhill), Sean Cannizzaro (Cazenovia) and Kelly Donigan (Skaneateles) on attack; Kyle Baier (Skaneateles), Dan Eipp (Westhill), Tim Burgess (Westhill), Seth Goldacker (Cazenovia) and Justin Hoffman (Cazenovia) at midfield; John Dillon (Westhill), Len Johnson (Skaneateles) and Ben Lewis (Cazenovia) on defense, plus Westhill’s Sam Penizotto as the long-stick specialist.
Jim Morrissey of Marcellus earned Division II Coach of the Year honors with Seth Benjamin of Skaneateles named the assistant coach of the year.
Senior attackman Paul Armideo was the only Homer player named to the OHSL Division II Second-Team All-Star squad.
Other second team honorees included Kevin Rice (Skaneateles), Matt McCaffer (Marcellus) and Kyle Nicholas (Westhill) on attack; midfielders Tom Schoener (Skaneateles), Jeff Guadagnolo (Jordan-Elbridge) and Evan Hughes (Marcellus); defensemen C.J. Nye (Marcellus), Pat Nealon (Westhill) and Kyle McQuiggan (Skaneateles); plus long-stick specialist Ryan Callahan (Skaneateles) and goalkeeper Connor Smart (Jordan-Elbridge).
Honorable mentions included Homer sophomore attackman Connor Ferrito, junior midfielder Luke Pedersen, senior defenseman Matt Sharpe and senior defenseman Mike Park.
Also named honorable mention on attack were Brett Axelson (Cazenovia, Josh Livingston (Jordan-Elbridge), Tris Nicola (Westhill), Josh Ginestro (Marcellus) and Patrick Emmer (Skaneateles); at midfield were Abe Patrick and Dylan Johnson from Jordan-Elbridge, Chad Dorrance and Sean Dougherty of Cazenovia, Kyle Christine and Kevin Castle from Skaneateles; on defense, Derek Cheney (Jordan-Elbridge), Tom Delap (Jordan-Elbridge), Luke Sherman (Skaneateles), Brett Gifford (Cazenovia) and Kevin Wilson (Westhill); Cazenovia long-stick Tom Culligan and Skaneateles goalkeeper Cal Winkleman.
Homer coach Tom Cottrell offers his thoughts on his first-team all-star selections:
On Carl Zimmerman: “Carl had another great season. It was nice to see if back up last year’s numbers with comparable ones against very tough Division II opponents and to have the coaches recognize that as well. Carl continues to grow as a player and I am excited about what he will bring to the table next season.”
Zimmerman had his second consecutive 85-plus point season with 60 goals and 29 assists for 89 points. His career points total (186 on 133g-53a) is fifth all-time, just three points behind fourth-place Jake Plunket (189 on 125g-64g). Zimmerman is the first Homer player with two seasons of 80-points or more.
On Aaron Darr: “Like Carl, Aaron is a second-year varsity player. We got a glimpse of what he could do in 2008, but, in 2009, Aaron became a dominant two-way player, especially on offense. He has tremendous talent. Aaron grew as a player this year because the work he did during the off-season his two varsity season.”
Darr finished with 56 goals and seven assists for a third-best on the team with 63 points. Darr had 97 career points on 84 goals and 13 assists.
On Paul Zimmerman: “Paul earned first-team honors for the second year in row. He was a Freedom Division first-team all-star in 2008 and faced more tough opponents this year and shined again. All the coaches agreed that he is a tremendous talent. Paul is a great leader. He was heart and soul of our team this year and he will be hard to replace.”
Zimmerman had an 8.71 goals-against average against some of the best offensive teams in the state during this spring with 245 saves.
Zimmerman and Paul Armideo competed in the Section 3 Exceptional Seniors Game at Cicero-North Syracuse High School Tuesday night with Zimmerman earning the Blue (Division II-III player) team’s defensive MVP award. Armideo scored the first Blue Team goal in the 8-8 contest. Zimmerman will now move on to the U.S. Naval Academy.