July 1, 2008

Groton has three first-teamers

Groton Central had the only three players that received first-team status when the Interscholastic Athletic Conference announced its softball all-stars.
That Groton trio on the Division III first team were Val Senter, Brittany Madigan and Heather Radcliffe.
Rounding out the Division III first-team all-stars were Lindsey Doeing, Julie Hewitt, Lianna May, Kim Willis and Jessica Currie from Southern Cayuga; Jillian Thomas and Kelly Pinckney from Union Springs, plus Hannah Mackey, Hayley Potter and Jessica Kehoe of Moravia.
Second Team all-stars included Stephanie Senter, Kate Mulhern and Kelly Rongo from Groton; Shelby Freligh and Jaimi Jones of Union Springs; Moravia’s Brandi O’Hara and Shealena Marnell; plus Beth Rocker and Felicia Allen of Southern Cayuga.
DIVISION I First-Team All-Stars were Brittany French from Lansing; Waverly’s Ariel Mensch and Sam Jilson; Kaitlyn Percey and Deirdre O’Hara from Trumansburg; Emily Pautz, Danielle Schenone and Taryn Lindquist from Elmira Notre Dame; plus Sam Darpino, Nicole Watson, Kara Quartararo, Taylor Tobey and Katie McCann from Newark Valley.
Second Team all-stars include Amy Strom from Dryden; Olivia May and Sarah Huber of Elmira Notre Dame; Kate Fontana and Cathy Durand from Newark Valley; Kayla Hardesty and Morgan Mullen from Trumansburg; Jaycee Wolcott, Cassidy Farr and Emily Moorehead of Waverly; plus Cassandra Smith and Lauri Bush from Lansing.
DIVISION II First-team All-Stars were Sherry Benedict of Odessa-Montour; Tricia Brock from Spencer-Van Etten; Jesse Robinson, Sarah Wayson, Marissa Miller, Hailey Hoffman and Kari Walkley of Tioga; Kait Wilcox from Candor; Taylor Chaffee and Taylor McCarthy of Watkins Glen and the Elmira Heights Edison quartet of Kristen Bargesser, Megan Beschler, Brittany Storch and Paige Freeman.
Second Team all-stars were Kaliegh Lehman and Audrey Lawrence of Spencer-Van Etten; Ariel Hutchinson, Julie Chambers and Danelle Tappan of Tioga; Emily Woodin and Kristen Cleveland from Candor; Ariel Force, Kimberly George and Abby Stamp of Watkins Glen; plus Elmira Heights Edison’s Alyson Johnson, Nicole Knott, Kim Carrigan and Veronica Van Amburg.