July 15, 2009


Lions’ Colbert all-state hurler

Dryden High’s Matt Colbert has been named to the New York State Sports Writers Association’s Class B all-state baseball squad as a fifth-team pitcher.
Colbert tossed 56 innings for the Purple Lions this past season, allowing five earned runs with an 0.63 ERA and 94 strikeouts. He also played first base and overall hit .426 with 26 hits, including a team-high 12 doubles, two triples, 20 runs scored and 31 RBIs, also best on the team.
Dryden won the overall Interscholastic Athletic Conference title this past spring after finishing first in the Division I standings.
Among those named to the Class B first team were junior infielder Mike McMullen and senior pitcher-infielder Mike DeCarr from Westhill and Chenango Valley senior catcher Brian Stilson. Westhill senior pitcher Ryan Malley and Lansing senior shortstop Matt Ford made the second team, while third-team honors went to Westhill senior outfielder Mike Mascari and senior pitcher Justin Topa from Chenango Valley.
Bishop Ludden junior utility player John Rooney made the fourth team, and in addition to Colbert, fifth-team honors also went to Lowville senior catcher A.J. Capone and Cazenovia senior infielder Carter Franz.
In Class AA, Vestal senior centerfielder Jeremy Balz was named to the all-state first team. Central Square senior catcher Tom Murphy and Vestal senior shortstop Pat Talbut made the third team, Cicero-North Syracuse senior pitcher Grant Nadeau was named to the fourth team and fifth-team honors went to Auburn senior outfielder Matt Wild, Utica Proctor junior pitcher Steve Sarcone and Vestal senior pitcher Tim Lewis.
Liverpool senior infielder Mike Weakley was a sixth-team selection, while Ithaca senior pitcher Eric Skutch made the seventh team.
Class A first-team laurels went to Mexico senior catcher Kody O’Connor and Maine-Endwell pitcher-first baseman Brian Rudy, while Syracuse CBA junior catcher Sean McGraw and senior infielder-pitcher Andrew Barbarina from Maine-Endwell made the second team. Camden senior pitcher D.J. Forbragd and new Hartford senior outfielder made the fourth team, while Mexico senior pitcher Jon Silva, Oneida junior third baseman-pitcher Nate Mallinder and Syracuse CBA junior pitcher Mike Kitts made the fifth team.
Candor senior pitcher Cody Rose and Binghamton Seton Catholic third baseman-pitcher Nate Jones made the Class C first team, while Watertown IHC senior pitcher Pat Magoveny, Pulaski senior utility player Tom Curry and Binghamton Seton catholic senior pitcher-shrtstop Pat Matthews were named to the second team.
The third team includes Little Falls senior second baseman-pitcher Pat Shepardson, Fabius-Pompey senior catcher Kevin Carroll and Unatego senior pitcher Tyler Newman. Fourth-teamers are Tully senior pitcher Ben Smith, Cooperstown senior catcher Kyle Liner and Delhi senior shortstop-pitcher Luke Burns.
Hamilton’s Joe LePage was named the Class D Coach of the Year, while two of his players, seniors Jordan Doroshenko (pitcher) and Tyler White (shortstop-pitcher) made the first team, along with South Kortright senior pitcher Dan Many. Second-teamers are sophomore pitcher Jeff Albright from New York Mills, South Kortright senior infielder Eric Burns and Gilbertsville-Mt. Upton senior pitcher-shortstop Cody Hall. Edmeston senior pitcher-infielder Jordon Williams and Afton senior catcher Victor Coronado made the third team.