July 24, 2009


Marathon crowned champion

BaseballJoe McIntyre/staff photographer
Marathon’s Victor McCutcheon, right, steals second under the tag of Fabius second baseman Danny Gallagher in the bottom of the first inning of Thursday night’s Cortland County Babe Ruth League championship game. Marathon won, 8-2.

Eric Barry finished his Babe Ruth League baseball career in style Thursday evening.
Having reached the maximum age for players in the league, the 15-year-old threw a one-hitter with eight strikeouts as Marathon Sautter Construction beat the Fabius Falcons 8-2 at Beaudry Park to win the championship of the Cortland County Babe Ruth League.
Marathon went undefeated in four games in the double-elimination league tournament, beating the Homer Sox 11-7 and Tully 18-6 before shading Fabius 4-3 in the winners’ bracket final for a berth in Thursday night’s game. Fabius opened with a 29-1 win over Groton and edged Cortland Moose 4-3 before its first loss to Marathon, then blanked Cortland Alliance Bank 6-0 in the losers’ bracket final.
The winners opened the scoring on Thursday with a first-inning run before Fabius scored twice in the bottom of the same frame on Mike Rotondo’s single — its only hit of the game — four walks and an error. Barry then blanked the Falcons the rest of the way, while Marathon then took the lead for good with a pair of second-inning runs and scored four more in the third to break the game open, finishing the scoring with a single run in the sixth.
Andrew Gillette (RBI, three runs scored), Victor McCutcheon (RBI, run) and Kody Barry (RBI, run) all went 2-for-3 and Jeff Contri scored twice to lead Marathon offensively.
Third baseman Barry, Eric’s younger brother, also made an over-the-shoulder catch in the seventh to prevent another Fabius hit. In addition, Marathon turned a double play, second baseman Danny Lincoln to shortstop Tyler Zelsnack to first baseman Jeff Contri, to escape a bases-loaded, one-out Falcon threat in the fifth.
Rotondo also walked twice and scored a run as the standout in defeat for Fabius.
Members of the Marathon team, coached by Justin Penrose and assistants Adam Roe, Mike Russell and Doug Contri, are Evan Holl, Victor McCutcheon, co-captain Tyler Zelsnack, Eric Barry, Andrew Gillette, Jeff Contri, Kody Barry, co-captain Alex McDonald, Luke Merrill, Dave Lincoln, Dan Lincoln and Andrew Doane.