August 25, 2010


Quadra Flex wins senior softball title

LIVERPOOL— Cortland Quadra Flex won its third consecutive 2010 Central New York Senior 60s Softball League playoff championship Tuesday with a 7-5 win over Lane’s Karousel Kids from Binghamton.
On its way to the title game in the six-team playoffs, Quadra Flex drew a bye in the first round by virtue of its top seed and advanced to the championship game with an 18-6 semifinal win over arch-rival Syracuse Leftovers. Syracuse had previously advanced with a first-round win over Mario’s Pizza of Owego. Lane’s Karousel Kids made it to the championship game by defeating Kattelville Athletic Association of Chenango Forks in its semifinal game. KAA defeated Elmira Meineke to move on to that semifinal game.
In the semifinal victory over Syracuse, winning pitcher Mike Richmond allowed six scattered hits over the first four innings supported by an error-free defense. Cortland’s offense, scoring in every inning, was led by Jerry Stratton, who went 3-for-3, and former SUNY Cortland basketball standout Tony Galeazzi, who was 3-for-4 with a double and two RBIs. Nine other Quadra Flex players had two hits apiece as the winners had 25 hits in all.
In the championship game, neither team was able to score until the bottom of the third inning when Quadra Flex exploded for five runs on six consecutive hits, including a two-run double by Gary Contri. The Karousel Kids bounced back with four runs of their own in the top of the fourth inning, leaving Quadra Flex with a slim 5-4 lead. Cortland extended its lead to 6-4 in the bottom of the fourth on a leadoff triple by Galeazzi followed by an RBI single by Vern Wagar. Quadra Flex added one more run, stretching its lead to 7-4 after five innings. In the top of the sixth inning, Karousel Kids threatened with back-to-back lead off doubles, but Cortland’s defense hung tough, allowing only one run.
Once again, it was Quadra Flex’s tight team defense and effective pitching by winning pitcher Jack Barker that limited the scoring of the Karousel Kids. The winners’ balanced attack was led by Dwight Lashley, Ken Moses, Wagar, Galeazzi, and Gene Signor with two hits apiece.


To read this article and more, pick up today's Cortland Standard