August 28, 2009


Grand Rental/Gable and NAPA win titles

SoftballJoe McIntyre/staff photographer
Grand Rental Station/Gable Inn center fielder Dan Harris makes a throw to the infield in the bottom of the second inning against Red Dragon.

Seth Montgomery was a perfect 5-for-5 and Anthony Pitts provided a crucial sixth-inning home run as Grand Rental Station/Gable Inn rallied from a 10-2 deficit for an 18-12 victory over Red Dragon Thursday. The victory completed a two-game sweep that lifted Grand Rental/Gable Inn to its fourth straight Cortland Men’s Slowpitch Softball League American Division championship.
In the National Division championship series, Ivan’s defeated NAPA 10-6 to even things at one game apiece before NAPA claimed the crown with a 14-6 victory in the decisive third game behind three-hit efforts from Adam Potter, John Canzano and Tim Mack.
Grand Rental/Gable Inn 18, Red Dragon 12: Red Dragon broke a 2-2 first-inning tie with eight runs in the bottom of the second inning to take a commanding lead. Grand Rental/Gable chipped away closing the gap to 10-9 after the top of the fifth inning.
Red Dragon plated two runs in the bottom of the inning for a three-run cushion, but the advantage was shortlived as Grand Rental/Gable crossed home plate six times in the top of the sixth inning to take a 15-12 lead. Pitts delivered a two-run homer during that inning which got the winners to within one run. Three more runs in the seventh secured the fourth straight championship.
Montgomery was perfect in those five plate appearances with a triple and three runs scored. Jason Hogan and Coy Potter added 3-for-4 efforts. Justin DeGraw (triple) and Danny Harris (3 runs scored) aided the winning attack by going 2-for-3.
Jim Beattie led the Red Dragon attack by going 3-for-3. Mike Hammond chipped in with his 3-for-4 bat that included three runs scored. Aaron Avery and Darren Wright were each 2-for-3 for Red Dragon.
Ivan’s 10, NAPA 6: Tony Marshall and Josh Sutton were each 3-for-4 as Ivan’s scored five runs in the top of the third inning to break a 1-1 tie. Ivan’s did enough over the final four innings to post the victory and force a decisive third game in the best-of-three series.
Randy Phillips and Joe DeLee added 2-for-3 swings to the Ivan’s offense.
NAPA got consistency in its offensive attack. Greg Zacek, Bob Nelson, Steve Phillips, Brian Dyer, Derek Fiene and Bill Phillips each delivered 2-for-3 efforts.
NAPA 14, Ivan’s 6: NAPA wasted little time in seizing control in the final game of the 2009 season. Seen runs in the top of the second inning and three more runs in the third gave the playoff champions a 10-2 advantage.
Adam Potter swung a 3-for-3 bat with a double to lead the winning offense. John Canzano and Tim Mack followed with 3-for-4 efforts.
Jeremy Sutton and Ken Peck each went 2-for-3 to Ivan’s, who won the regular-season crown.