November 30, 2010


Starry bunch of first place Tigers

Staff Writer

Unbeaten league champion Cortland High placed seven players on the All-Section 3 Class A American Division football first team for this past season, and coach Dave Darrow won the Terry Coffman Coach of the Year Award.
Named to the elite squad for the Purple Tigers, who went unbeaten in their five league games, were seniors David Fernandes (5-foor-11, 250-pound defensive lineman), Nick Reynolds (6-3, 230 offensive lineman), Alex Stacy (5-8, 170 free safety) and Justin Tabel (6-0, 210 linebacker). They were joined by junior teammates Qwuhail Barlow (5-10, 160 wide receiver), Devon Darrow (5-10, 180 quarterback) and Kyle Teeter (5-8, 210 defensive lineman).
Stacy, also a tailback on offense, was also named to the All-CNY third team for this fall, while Devon Darrow was an All-CNY honorable mention.
Runner-up East Syracuse-Minoa’s first-teamers are juniors Bobby Ali (6-2, 230 offensive lineman), Jordan Barton (5-8, 155 running back), Bobby Campese (6-1, 160 receiver) and Tyler Johnson (6-1, 175 quarterback) and sophomore Jeffrey McDuffie (5-10, 165 defensive back). Third-place Jamesville-DeWitt’s first-teamers are seniors Nick Firman (6-0, 190 linebacker) and Ahkeen Williams (6-2, 180 quarterback), junior Amani Jackson (5-10, 165 running back) and sophomore Taumeras Howard (5-8, 145 receiver).
Fourth-place Mexico placed seniors Brandon Burnham (5-11, 175 running back), Erik Keys (6-3, 255 offensive lineman) and Bruno Slivinski (6-2, 205 tight end) on the first team. They are joined there by Fulton seniors Donald Watson (5-8, 165 running back) and Brett Williams (5-11, 175 quarterback) and, from Oswego, senior Chris Pike (5-10, 155 quarterback) and sophomore Trevor Martin (6-2, 225 offensive lineman).
Cortland’s second-team all-leaguers are seniors Greg Congdon (5-9, 180 offensive lineman), Justin Hogan (6-3, 200 receiver) and Brian Strough (5-11, 205 running back) and juniors Zeke McGinn (6-0, 210 defensive lineman) and Jonathan Prior (5-10, 170 defensive back).
ES-M is represented on the second team by senior Matt Vasiloff (5-10, 210 offensive lineman), juniors Buddy Frigon (6-0, 150 receiver), Neil Hesse (5-9, 200 defensive back) and Ryan Mantor (5-10, 230 offensive lineman) and sophomore Steve Loder (5-10, 150 linebacker). J-D’s second-teamers are seniors Curtis Walker (5-8, 150 running back) and Doug Wright (6-1, 340 offensive lineman) and juniors Jake LaRussa (5-9, 170 linebacker) and Will Sterriker (5-10, 140 receiver).
Mexico senior Austin LaBouef (5-8, 165 defensive lineman) and juniors Shaun Kinney (6-3, 260 offensive lineman) and Andy Sova (5-10, 275 offensive lineman) made the second team, as did Fulton senior Greg Fobes (5-9, 165 receiver) and, from Oswego, senior Kyle Lamb (5-5, 150 defensive back) and Dom Cianfrano (6-1, 220 offensive lineman).
Cortland honorable mentions are senior linebacker Luke Bush, junior offensive lineman Seamus Fields and junior linebacker Jordan Nemecek. Honorable mentions from ES-M are senior Andrew Reichert, juniors Jon Britton and Bobby Crandall and sophomores Mike Gorney and Mike Hearn. J-D’s honorable mentions include seniors Alex Hatem, Russell Runions and Mason Schoeneck and juniors Koy Adams and John Gallauresi.
Making the honorable mention list from Mexico are seniors Andrew Scholes, Kyle Sikes and Tommy Williams, juniors Ray Eastman and Mitchal Pettit and sophomore John Eastman. Fulton juniors Mark Aldasch and Colin Blake are among the honorable mentions, as is Oswego senior Josh McRae.
Cortland coach Dave Darrow had the following comments on his first-teams, as well as his own award.
On David Fernandes: “David is one of the best pulling guards in Section 3. He played next to Nick Reynolds, and together they dominated the right side of the line.”
On Nick Reynolds: “Nick dominated play as a right offensive tackle. We ran 70 percent of our run plays behind him.”
On Alex Stacy: “Alex led the team in tackles with 60, called defense and had three interceptions. He has a great knowledge of the defense and is a big-time playmaker.”
On Justin Tabel: “an outstanding outside linebacker, great tackler and play maker, Justin improved our defense when he was moved from defensive end to linebacker.”
On Qwuhail Barlow: “Qwuhail had eight touchdown catches and 485 receiving yards, averaging 20 yards per catch. I consider him to be the best receiver in the section.”
On Devon Darrow: “Devon led the league in pass percentage, running touchdowns, and passing touchdowns for a quarter back.”
On Kyle Teeter: “Kyle was team’s leading tackler as a lineman and a big playmaker, with six tackles for losses.”
On the Terry Coffman Coach of the Year Award: “The credit for this award goes to my assistant coaches and all of the players on the team.”

Final league standings: Cortland 5-0, East Syracuse-Minoa 4-1, Jamesville-DeWitt 3-2, Mexico 2-3, Fulton 1-4, Oswego 0-5



To read this article and more, pick up today's Cortland Standard