April 14, 2010


Tennant all-state dribbler

Cortland High senior forward-center Courtney Tennant has earned yet another post-season honor, being named to the Class A All-State third team by the New York State Sportswriters and Coaches Organization for Girls and the New York State Sports Writers Association.
The leading scorer (18 points per game) and second-leading rebounder (10.4) this past season, Tennant was a prime force behind the Purple Tigers’ Section 3 Class A championship and appearance in the state regionals, where they were narrowly defeated by eventual state champion Averill Park from Section 2. She was named MVP of the Section 3 tournament.
Tennant was also named an OHSL Freedom Division first-team all-star for the second season and was also an All-CNY first team selection.
Senior guard-forward Katie Duma from Averill Park was named Class A Player of the Year and the champions’ Sean Organ was honored as Coach of the Year.
Maine-Endwell senior guard Megan Touhey made the Class A second team, while joining Tennant on the all-state third team was senior guard Ashley Roser from Camden. Senior forwards Sarah Johnson from Carthage and Kristen Chelak from Maine-Endwell had the seventh team, while the ninth team included seniors Nikki Works (Nottingham forward), Alyssa Gratien (Jamesville-DeWitt guard) and Stacey Fox (Johnson City guard).
Class AA honorees included sophomore forward Breanna Stewart from Cicero-North Syracuse, named to the second team; Binghamton senior guard Jennifer Morabito, fourth team; Corcoran junior guard Coriesha Hickey, sixth team; Syracuse CBA senior guard Leanne Ockenden, seventh team; Horseheads junior forward Alyssa DeRichie, 11th team; Fayetteville-Manlius senior forward Emily Trapani and Binghamton sophomore guard Tiahana Mills, 12th team and Horseheads senior guard Anna Wicks, 14th team.
Two juniors players from Section 4, Oneonta guard-forward Sienna Wisse and Lansing guard Jocelyn Ford, were named to the Class B first team. South Jefferson junior forward Maddy Wetterhan made the second team, while sophomore forward-center Taylor Chaffee from Watkins Glen was named to the third team. Other local honorees were Jordan-Elbridge sophomore forward and Oneonta senior center Val Ridgeway, fourth team; Chenango Valley senior guard Mikala King, fifth team; Clinton junior forward and Owego junior guard Brittany Rando, sixth team and Bishop Ludden junior guard Ashley Cianfriglia and Oneonta senior guard Erin Wolstenholme, eighth team.
Tioga junior guard-forward was named Co-Player of the Year in Class C and made the first team, along with junior forward Hannah Kimmel from Harpursville. Named to the third team were Utica Notre Dame eighth-grade guard Emily Durr, Newfield senior guard Maria Thannhauser and Tioga junior guard Kacie Hoyt. Bishop Grimes senior forward Amanda Marcely made the fourth team, with Bishop Grimes sophomore guard Amelia Heiselman and Odessa-Montour junior forward Michelle Melanson named to the fifth team. Weedsport sophomore guard-forward Kaitlin Hammersley made the sixth team, and the seventh team included senior guards Olivia Tooley from Little Falls and Bit Hall from Thousand Islands.
Seniors Taylor Szwec (Candor guard) and Sam Meyerhoff (Davenport forward) shared Co-Player of the Year honors in Class D, and both also made the first team. Hamilton guard-forward Jordan Peterson and South Kortright senior forward Renee Craft made the second team, Davenport senior guard Jackie Gilley the third team, New York Mills junior guard Erica Pendrak the fourth team, Sackets Harbor senior guard and Milford senior forward Chandler Prouty the sixth team and Oriskany senior guard, Franklin eighth-grade guard Jordan Beers and Jefferson senior forward Chelsea Martin the seventh team.