August 8, 2016


Skyline Raceway: Rothwell stays hot with fourth victory

BLODGETT MILLS — Jim Rothwell has been on a roll since returning to Skyline Raceway Park a month ago.
The former track champion scored his fourth win, taking the checkered flag in the Open Sportsman feature that went off under picture perfect weather conditions Saturday night with a nice crowd on hand to check out the start of the final full month of the racing season.
Glenn Forward scored his first ever 602 Crate Sportsman feature win at Skyline while Will Ward returned to victory lane in the STAR Series event for the IMCA Modifieds. Tyler Yeagle won his third consecutive Street Stock feature with STAR Series point leader Jeremy Williams earning his first Skyline win in the STAR Series event for the Stock Cars. Richard Wagner scored the feature win in the Four Cylinder Stock division.
Rothwell started fourth in the feature, but made a big move on the opening lap to grab the lead away from polesetter Ben Bushaw. Bushaw chased Rothwell for the first seven laps, but his race ended in a ball of fire and smoke from an apparent blown engine.
Track crews handled the situation quickly and Bushaw was not injured.
Dan Yankowski closed in to challenge Rothwell when the race resumed. He would pull to Rothwell’s rear bumper on a couple of occasions, but Yankowski was not able to find a way past and settled for a strong runner-up finish behind Rothwell. Gary Card Jr. came home third place with point leader Bill Leonard and rookie Mike Dawson rounding out the top five.
The WXM Auto Sales Crate Sportsman feature changed gears on the 12th circuit when the red flag was displayed for a multi-car accident on the backstretch that blocked the track. Coming off the red flag, point leader Andrew Smith’s car failed to refire and he was pushed to the pits.
On the restart, Forward was able to work past early leader Taylor Lamb to take over the race lead. Forward would lead the rest of the way to make his inaugural appearance in SRP’s victory lane with Lamb chasing him all the way to finish second.
Greg Doust finished third with Rich Powell and Chuck Miller recovering from involvement in a pair of early incidents to finish fifth.
Racing continues this Saturday night at 6:30 p.m., with the gates open at 4 p.m. For the latest information, log onto or contact the speedway office at 607-745-0275.
Yeagle continued his late-season Street Stock mastery, driving past Bob Mills on the eighth lap would lead the rest of the way to earn the feature win. Ray Lindquist finished second with point leader Mills third.
Ward got the best of a strong field of 20 STAR Series IMCA Modified feature cars, holding off a late challenge from Rich Michael. Gary Roberts raced by early leader Brad Smith on the final lap to finish third.


LAST WEDNESDAY, Skyline Raceway Park hosted its mid-week special to take place at the speedway in over a decade.
Cortland Seafood sponsored the Triple Catch Wednesday event which saw Kevin Jordan win his sixth Skyline Raceway Park feature of the 2016 season as he topped the Crate Vs Open Sportsman Shootout.
Jon Carpenter topped the Fight NightStreet Stocks, while Mike Robinson came away the winner of the Four Cylinder Shootout.

Skyline’s Saturday Features

Open Sportsman: Jim Rothwell, Dan Yankowski, Gary Card Jr., Bill Leonard, Mike Dawson, Jim Money, Ben Bushaw, Randy West, Buck Mills Sr., Nate DeGraw. DNS: Michael Owens.
602 Crate Sportman: Glenn Forward, Taylor Lamb, Greg Doust, Rich Powell, Chuck Miller, Randy Gates, Dorian Wahden, Andrew Smith, Jordan Bennett, Lee Foland, Matt Trapenhagen, Scott Smith, Brandon Kuhn, Dale Welty. DNS: Jason Thomas. DQ: Garrett Rushlow, Jamie Batzel.
IMCA Modifieds: Will Ward, Rich Michael, Gary Roberts, Brad Smith, Matt Cole, Ray McClure, Tyler Stoddard, Keith Lamphere, Bruce Tinsley, Mike Stoddard, Dan Alvord, Kevin Griffin, Doug McCane, Kevin Smith, Gary Lamphere, Tom Hulburt, Brian Mills, Steve Reynolds, Bill Ward DQ: Jeff Cardinale
Street Stock: Tyler Yeagle, Ray Lindquist, Bob Mills, Matt Bowman, Doug Polhamus, Steve Polhamus, Jake Fowlston, Cody Neilson.
Stock Car: Jeremy Williams, Buck Mills Jr., Jason Thomas, Dan Reeves, Tim Parker, Levi Frink, Cyrus Homer, Bill Flask. DNS: Phil Locke.
Four-Cylinder Stock: Rich Wagner, Nick Kennedy, Phil Burns, Michael Brown, Art Palmer, Carl Chaffee, Tom Bumphus II.


To read this article and more, pick up today's Cortland Standard
Click here to subscribe